Spain adds Portugal, Hungary and several other regions to its list of high risk areas



Travelers from Portugal and Hungary will now be subject to additional entry rules when they arrive in Spain as the health ministry has placed the countries on its list of high-risk areas.

Previously, only several regions of the two countries were on the high-risk list. However, since the COVID-19 situation has worsened, the entire territory of Portugal and Hungary is now considered to be severely affected.

According to the latest update released by the Spanish Ministry of Health, the new categorization of countries and regions is effective from today, October 11, and will remain in effect until October 17, reports SchengenVisaInfo. com.

Based on the current rules put in place by Spain, travelers reaching Spain’s territory from Portugal and Hungary or any other country / region on the high-risk list are required to present a proof of COVID-19 vaccination or proof of recovery. Additionally, if travelers do not hold either of the two certificates, they are required to provide a negative coronavirus test result.

With the exception of the two countries mentioned above, the Polish province of West Pomerania has also been added to the high risk list. The regions of Lubelskie, Podlaskie were already on the list. In addition, the Polish regions of Jihozápad and the Central Bohemian region have also been added to the list.

On the other hand, the same ministry revealed that two Italian regions, Puglia and Umbria, were no longer on its high-risk list, meaning travelers from both regions do not need to track any additional rules.

In addition, entry rules have also been relaxed for travelers from Norway and Sweden because now only some of their regions are considered highly affected by COVID-19, unlike last week when the whole of the territory of the two countries was among the high-risk countries. listing.

The Norwegian and Swedish regions which are now listed as high risk areas are:

  • Regions of Norway: Oslo, Troms and Finnmark, Viken, Agder, Innlandet, Møre og Romsdal, Nordland, Rogaland, Trøndelag and Vestfold and Telemark.
  • Regions of Sweden: East Central Sweden, Upper Norrland, SmÃ¥land and the Islands, Stockholm, South Sweden and West Sweden.

As last week, the regions of Denmark, Finland and France remained unchanged. They continue to be on the high risk list.

In addition to the countries / regions already mentioned above, the high-risk list of EU and Schengen area countries includes the following:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Estonia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy – Basilicata, Calabria, Campania, Emilia-Romagna, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Lazio, Liguria, Marche, Autonomous Province of Bolzano / Bozen, Sicily, Tuscany and Veneto
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden – North-central Sweden, east-central Sweden, Upper Norrland, SmÃ¥land with the islands, Stockholm, southern Sweden and western Sweden

The list of third countries considered epidemiologically safe in terms of COVID-19 risk remains unchanged this week as well. The list includes Australia, Chile, Canada, China, Hong Kong SAR, Jordan, Kuwait, Macao SAR, New Zealand, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore , South Korea, Taiwan, Ukraine and Uruguay.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.