Seven cities competing for the title of European Smart Tourism Capital 2022



BRUSSELS, September 16, 2021 / PRNewswire / – Today the European Commission announced the seven shortlisted cities for the 2022 European Capital of Smart Tourism competition (presented in alphabetical order): Bordeaux (France), Copenhagen (Denmark), Dublin (Ireland), Florence (Italy), Ljubljana (Slovenia), Palma (Spain), Valencia (Spain). The finalist cities were selected from a total of 30 entries from 16 countries.

Learn more about each of the pre-selected destinations here.

The European Capital of Smart Tourism is an EU initiative, currently funded under the COSME program. It builds on the successful experience of the preparatory action proposed by the European Parliament and implemented by the European Commission in 2019 and 2020. It aims to promote smart tourism in the EU, to foster the development of innovative, sustainable and inclusive tourism, as well as to disseminate and facilitate the exchange of good practices. This EU initiative recognizes the outstanding achievements of cities as tourist destinations in four categories: accessibility, sustainability, digitization as well as cultural heritage and creativity. The competition was open to cities in the EU and third countries participating in the COSME program.[1].

The competition has a proven track record of success. The European Capital of Smart Tourism 2022 is the third edition of the competition. Gothenburg and Málaga have been selected as winners of the 2020 competition of European smart tourism capitals, while Helsinki and Lyonnais won the inaugural competition and jointly held the titles of European Smart Tourism Capitals 2019.

The two winning cities will benefit from communications and branding support throughout 2022. This will include a promotional video, a specially designed hashtag sculpture to be installed in a prominent location, various promotional activities and visibility at EU level.

The winning cities will be rewarded with November 2021.


During the first stage of the competition, a panel of independent experts evaluated the applications. All finalist cities demonstrated excellence in all four competition categories combined.

In a second stage, the representatives of the seven finalist cities will present their candidatures and the program of activities planned for 2022 to the European Jury. The European Jury will meet in the coming weeks and select two cities to become European Smart Tourism Capitals in 2022.

The selection of the most innovative projects, ideas and initiatives, submitted by cities in competitions from previous years, can be found in the Compendium of Best Practices, the essential guide to smart tourism in the EU.

For the latest news on European smart tourism capitals, subscribe to our newsletter, or follow us on Facebook or Twitter.


Secretariat of the European Capital of Intelligent Tourism:

Antigoni Avgeropoulou, [email protected], +49 (0) 30 70 01 86 390

Notes to Editors

1. The European Capital of Smart Tourism 2022 competition was open to applications from April 22, 2021 To June 16, 2021. The general conditions are available at

2. Smart tourism responds to new challenges and demands in a rapidly changing industry, including expectations for digital information, products and services; equal opportunities and access for all visitors; sustainable development of the territory; and support for creative industries and local talent.

3. In 2019, among the 35 EU cities that applied, Malaga and Gothenburg stood out and were selected as European Smart Tourism Capitals 2020. In 2018, among 38 EU cities, Helsinki and Lyonnais stood out and were selected European Capitals of Smart Tourism 2019.

[1] Albania, Armenia, Bosnia herzegovina, Iceland, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine and United Kingdom.

SOURCE European Capital of Intelligent Tourism


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.