Bulgaria Adds Ireland, Germany and 12 Other EU / Schengen Countries to Red List of COVID-19 Travel Restrictions


Bulgarian authorities have added 14 member states of the European Union and the Schengen area to the red list of countries which have been deeply affected by the coronavirus in recent weeks. This means that travelers from these regions to Bulgaria now face additional entry restrictions.

The decision was announced by the Bulgarian Foreign Ministry and comes into effect on Tuesday 23 November.

The countries added to the red list are:

  1. Andorra
  2. Austria
  3. Belgium
  4. The Czech Republic
  5. Denmark
  6. Germany
  7. Greece
  8. Hungary
  9. Iceland
  10. Ireland
  11. Liechtenstein
  12. The Netherlands
  13. Poland
  14. Switzerland

This decision means that travelers from these 14 countries, as well as other countries on the Red List, are banned from entering Bulgaria from November 23.

However, Bulgarian citizens and nationals of EU and EEA countries can enter Bulgaria from Red List countries if they hold a valid COVID-19 digital certificate from the EU proving they have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19 or recovered from the virus recently.

Those who arrive in the country for essential purposes as medical personnel, heads of state and government members in official positions, seasonal agricultural workers and workers in the field of tourism, etc., are also allowed to enter the program. countries under the same rules.

Those who do not have either must show negative PCR test results. The test must be no more than 72 hours before arrival in Bulgaria, and it must be certified by a valid EU digital COVID certificate for testing or a similar document with the same data as the digital COVID certificate of the EU.

Travelers from countries in the latter category are subject to the obligation of quarantine for a period of ten days.

Currently, part of the Red List are also Armenia, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Grenada, South Africa, Guatemala, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Mongolia, Montenegro, Myanmar, Namibia, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Romania, Saint -Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay and Zambia.

5 other countries added to the orange list

At the same time, Bulgaria added Finland, France, the Principality of Monaco, Portugal and Moldova to the orange list of countries. Previously, the top four were classified in the green category, while Moldova was in the red category.

From 23 November, only travelers who can present a valid EU COVID passport for vaccination, for the recovery of negative test results in the last 180 days, or a similar document containing the same data as EU digital COVID certificate can enter Bulgaria from these countries.

Bulgarian citizens, holders of a residence permit and their family members can enter without presenting any of the above documents, but they are subject to the obligation of quarantine for ten days.

The amber category includes all other countries that are not in the red and green categories.

Only 7 countries are still in the green category

While in the green category remain the State of Vatican City, Luxembourg, Denmark, Italy, Spain, Malta, Sweden.

All travelers from these countries can enter without restriction if they present an EU COVID certificate or other equivalent certificate.

Those who do not hold such a certificate are forced to self-quarantine for a period of ten days, which can be avoided if travelers test a negative COVID-19 PCR test within 24 hours of arriving in the country.

>> Traveling To Bulgaria Amid COVID-19 – Everything You Need To Know


Comments are closed.