Arrivals from Spain, UK and three other states to be quarantined from July 12 | Coronavirus


From Monday July 12, the traffic restriction applies to passengers arriving from Andorra, Cyprus, Portugal, Spain and the UK, due to their reported coronavirus rates, the Estonian Foreign Ministry said on Friday.

From Monday, the restriction does not do not apply to other European countries in the list below, as those states have 14-day reported coronavirus rates below the 150 per 100,000 population benchmark.

The 14-day coronavirus rate in Estonia stands at 37.0 per 100,000 as of Friday, July 9. The current regime of travel restrictions valid until Sunday 11 July inclusive has arrived.

The restriction on freedom of movement applies to passengers coming from all countries of bold below, from Friday July 9.

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • UK
  • Vatican

Digital vaccine certification

From Friday, April 30, recipients of coronavirus vaccines can generate their own digital certificate on their own, which can also be authenticated using the accompanying Quick Response Code (QR).

The certificate, also known as the vaccine passport, will also fit into the EU’s own digital green passport (green referring to green to go with regards to the absence of coronavirus, unrelated to the environment). – editor’s note), once this system – approved Thursday by the European Parliament – is deployed.

Travel declarations can now be submitted online.

Before arriving in Estonia, you must complete a traveler questionnaire.

The questionnaire can be completed within three days of arriving in Estonia and, according to the Foreign Ministry, facilitates border crossing and eliminates the need to queue to complete a paper questionnaire.

A border guard or an airline representative is authorized to ask people crossing the border to present an electronic or printed confirmation of crossing sent by email.

Passenger travel declarations can now be submitted online.

Arrivals in Estonia at major points of entry can now submit their cross-border traveler declaration information electronically, reducing waiting time at Tallinn Airport or Tallinn Port.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises against travel in all but essential circumstances. Back in Estonia, two tests must be done six days apart.

Arrivals from EU Member States and UK

People entering Estonia with an infection rate above 150 can enter the country to perform urgent tasks if they produce a certificate confirming a negative result of a COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours.

Individuals can take the entry test when arriving in Estonia; however, they must then self-isolate until they get their test result.

When not performing urgent tasks, it is mandatory to remain in limited isolation. The individual can also return to the country from which he arrived in Estonia provided he has been tested within 72 hours of leaving Estonia and the result is negative.

Arrivals from third countries (outside the EU / EEA, Schengen zone and United Kingdom)

From June 21 it is possible for vaccinated people from all third countries to travel to Estonia. It is necessary to check whether the person needs a visa. Vaccinated people are also not subject to the restriction of freedom of movement.

According to list of third countries listed in Annex 1 of the Recommendation of the Council of the European Union on the gradual lifting of temporary restrictions on non-essential travel within the EU, it is possible to travel to Estonia from Albania, Armenia, ‘Australia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Kosovo, Macao, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, New Zealand, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Taiwan and United States.

A 10-day period of movement restrictions is mandatory for passengers arriving from countries with an infection rate greater than 75 people per 100,000 population in the last 14 days. During the period July 12 to July 18, movement restrictions apply on arrival from Rwanda and Thailand.

Testing and quarantine rules for all arrivals

According to government decision on 12 July (link in Estonian), the rules for entering Estonia changed for passengers from third countries not listed in Annex 1 of the recommendation of the Council of the European Union (the list green), and where it comes from possible to travel to Estonia to work, study, join family members or with a special permit. All third country nationals not included in the green list are only allowed to enter Estonia if they have passed a PCR test for the coronavirus up to 72 hours before entering the country or, a rapid test for antigen up to 48 hours before entering the country, and present a certificate confirming a negative test. This requirement does not apply if the person has completed a vaccination program and can present a certificate as proof.

Anyone holding a permit to enter Estonia from a country not listed in Annex 1 of the Council recommendation will be subject to a 10-day restriction on freedom of movement. The restriction on freedom of movement can be shortened by passing two tests. If a national of these countries with a legal basis to be in Estonia crosses the border several times, he will have to pass both tests in Estonia.

According to the ordinance, the test is not compulsory for Estonian nationals, permanent residents and nationals of the European Union. Other exceptions will also remain in effect; for example, diplomats and international freight transport drivers are exempt from testing.

Further information is available on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs here.

Follow the ERR news on Facebook and Twitter and never miss an update!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.